Always Working- Kelly Muth Q and A

Few people can work full time and still hold a professional ranking and number in the Disc Golf world. It takes a lot to work and be a professional no matter in what sport that may be. So, when I got the chance to ask Kelly Muth these questions when she had time, I was so happy for the opportunity. Kelly had some great responses, check them out and the questions below!

1) How did you get your start in Disc Golf?

I moved out to Arcata, CA to attend Humboldt State University in 2008. The Redwood Curtain DGC is located behind the campus, and I was playing almost every day after class. I started playing in local tournaments, joined the HSU Disc Golf Club a few years later and competed in the 2012 National Collegiate Disc Golf Championship (T 2nd, Individuals). From there, I started playing more tournaments out of the area, and eventually some NTs and Worlds.

2) Who did you look up to when you first started playing?

When I first started playing, my disc golf role model was Dave Feldberg, who made some appearances at a few of our local tournaments when I was just starting to play. He hosted some clinics that were fundamental in the beginning of my disc game. I also looked up to, and continue to look up to Valerie Jenkins. Her attitude and presence on the course is always top notch, and see has been a consistent and strong thrower ever since I have been playing,

3) Are you considered a pro? If so, what’s that like?

My PDGA status is pro, and yes I do compete in the Open Womens division and accept cash. My current rating does not reflect such pro status, nor am I a touring-pro presently. I am considered and respected as the local womens pro in our area, and I do appreciate that respect for the time that I have put in for my progression with the sport. I do look forward to going on tour, getting a consistent input of round ratings to truly reflect a proper player rating; which I will then feel like a true pro.

4) What is it like being sponsored?

I am very grateful for being a sponsored player. I have worked hard to earn and keep my sponsorship, so I am very proud to represent Latitude 64. I am honored when people at local courses approach me for throwing advice or disc suggestions. I do feel some added pressure at tournaments when I am representing Lat 64, however I try to just play my game and keep a smile on my face.

5) What is your favorite disc?

Latitude 64 moonshine bolt. One of my favorite plastic lines, with great grip in all conditions (hot/cold wet/dry). The fast speed, and understable flight are a perfect balance for my style of long-distance backhand driving with a hyzer-flip up to flat.

6) What is your favorite course?

Birds of Paradise, Humboldt County, CA. A private course open for select tournaments. Some tight technical holes opening up to a big-arm, big mountain course, with lots of elevation change, testing all skills and endurance.

7) Do you have any advice for players who are trying to step up their game?

Don’t be discouraged by one bad tournament, or even a few bad tournament performances. It all comes with experience, learn what works mentally and physically during tournaments; and each tournament you can continue perfecting that; be forgiving with yourself if all components of your game don’t come together all at once, one day all points will connect if you keep trying.

Also- film yourself driving and putting. You would be surprised with what you are and aren’t doing correctly. Don’t ask for everybody’s opinions on social media. Watch professionals and clinics filmed online and translate that to your own videos. Dave Feldberg has some of the best informational clinics that you can watch online.

8) What can we expect from you from the rest of the year?

My tournament season is wrapping up. I work full-time, as I did throughout the regular tournament season. I will stay on my putting routine and weekend throwing.

One of the last rounds to conclude my season was a Monday qualifying round at the USDGC. I was happy to get that experience for a full-tournament round on the Winthrop Gold course, and I was the only lady that attempted to qualify on Monday.

9) Favorite memory from playing so far?

Shooting three consistent rounds at Masters Cup NT at DeLaveaga in 2015. Highest NT finish in 7th place.

10) Anything else you would like people to know about you?

When I am not playing disc, or working … I can usually be found agate hunting on the northern California beaches with my boyfriend, Chris Watson and my dog, Diva.

I am very grateful for the support from my friends, family and my parents.

I would like to thank Kelly Muth for taking the time out of her busy day to answer these questions. You can find her on all forms of social media if you want to know more about her!

Picture credit goes to latitude64.se team page

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: